2016 Region One Business Meeting Minutes

The Annual Business Meeting of Region One of the American Hemerocallis Society was held at 7:30 PM on July 23, 2016, in Flandreau, SD. It was presided over by Regional President Kris Henning. Proper notice has been given, and a quorum met for the meeting. Introductions of all Officers were made, and a special thank you went to Mike Grossmann for his past Webmaster service.

Secretary's Report: Minutes of the 2015 Regional Meeting were published in the 2015 Fall issue of the Daylily Pioneer. No corrections. Karol Emmerich moved, Kathy Lamb seconded to approve. Motion passed.

Treasurer's Report: The 2015 Treasurer's Report was published in the 2016 Spring issue of the Daylily Pioneer. No questions. Report stands as published.

Other Reports: Director, President, and Editor Reports were published in the 2016 Spring issue of the Pioneer. RPD Report: RPD Steve Horan discussed the popularity poll, the importance of voting, and the Region One Hall of Fame. He passed out Popularity Poll ballots which are due September 1st.

Old Business:

1. Awards:

a. 2016 Service Award goes to Donna Steele. She received her award at the National.

b. 2015 Newsletter Award certificates presented:

i. Best Article About Daylily Culture—Gerald Hobbs, "Works for me' Gerald Hobbs – Tips for Success with Daylilies", Region One Newsletter, The Daylily Pioneer, Spring/Summer

ii. Best Scientific Article—Jonathan Poulton, DPhil, "Inching Closer to Understanding Daylily Spring Sickness?", Region One Newsletter, The Daylily Pioneer, Spring/Summer 2015

iii. Best Article Featuring Historical Aspects — Susan H. Holland, "ARLOW BURDETTE STOUT, The Early Years", Region One Newsletter, The Daylily Pioneer, Fall/Winter 2015

c. VEEP Scroll Award for 2016 goes to Susan Holland (Editor) as the person who has helped the President most during the past year.

d. Cultivar Awards for 2016 (voted fall, 2015).

i. Award of Merit- Runner Up to Karol Emmerich for 'Blood, Sweat and Tears'.

ii. Honorable Mention to Karol Emmerich for 'Kingdom Without End', 'Skin of My Teeth', 'Soli Deo Gloria', and 'Thistles and Thorns'.

iii. Junior Citations to Phil Fass for Cynthia's Grace #D0802 and to Don Lovell for Kathy Larson #D07LM13.

iv. Lambert-Webster Award 1st Runner Up to Nan Ripley for 'Scarlet Pimpernel'.

2. Display Gardens, Garden Judges. Region One currently has 23 AHS Display Gardens and 40 Garden Judges.

New Business:

1. Elections. Election of 2017-2018 President. Chair of Nominating Committee and Tabulator Kris Henning announced that Zora Ronan from CVIDS has been elected President.

2. Budget. President Kris Henning presented the 2016 Budget as prepared by Treasurer Karol Emmerich. Kris noted that the estimated \$3,000 income for the 2016 Auction would probably be higher due to the great response at auction on Friday night. Don Lovell motioned, Val Hoefer seconded to approve the budget. Motion passed.

Any Other Business: None.

Announcements:

1. The President thanked the Dakota Prairie Daylily Society, the Garden Owners, the Committees, Volunteers, plant contributors and all who helped to put on a great meeting in South Dakota.

2. Future Regionals were listed as: 2017-Minnesota, 2018-North Dakota, 2019-CVIDS, with a possible change in 2019.

Adjournment. Suzanne Karl motioned, Karen Schock seconded to adjourn. Motion passed.

Respectfully submitted,

Kris Henning